My personal project

My biggest upcoming project is my DHCT directing debut of It’s a Wonderful Life.  It’s the stage version of the movie and is very faithful to the screenplay.  This project is exciting and daunting all at the same time.

What is really interesting to me, in my self-reflections, is that in order to really work on IaWL (as I call it) I feel as though I need to get my life into order.  How am I going to be able to properly direct and showcase the meaning of this play if I have a chaotic life?

So while I would love to spend my time working on the show I really feel the need to get my home into order first.  One project follows the other.  If I finish the first, the second (and future!) will be easier, less anxious, more peaceful.  So while they may not seem related, it’s vital that my pantry is inventoried and my clutter gone so that I can focus on blocking and set designing.

As we get closer to the show (auditions are at the end of September and we go up in December) I’ll update you on how everything goes.

blog signature

2 thoughts on “My personal project

  1. Rachel,

    You are so right! Once you get your house in order everything will fall into place and you will be able to enjoy doing this show and for that matter everything in your life. I applaud you in your pursuit of bringing tranquility into your life. You will be able to lend your focus to this production. It will be a wonderful experience for all
    Where is your show going to be?

Leave a Reply

