Resolution

My overarching resolution for this year is (drumroll please):

To become the best version of myself for this year.

Essentially, I want to improve myself, to be ME, to not be ashamed of who I am and to do so in the context of 2010.  Because frankly, people change.  Who I am this year is not who I was in 2009, no is it who I’ll be in 2011 (or 2060).

I do have other goals too (not resolutions, per say) for this year.  They are based on my values (read them here) and my roles (ie: wife/mother/daughter of God/sister/friend, etc).  Here are the ones I have thought of, but I’m sure I’ll add more throughout the year.

  1. Work on financial peace (setting and keeping budgets, working to get out of debt, saving money, etc).
  2. Blog more (feeds my creativity/intelligence) with the goal of eventually writing a book about… something.
  3. Feed my creativity by taking the Wilton cake decorating classes and scrapbooking.
  4. Fully organize my home and develop cleaning habits so I’m never spending an entire month with my facebook status saying “Rachel is cleaning.. again”.
  5. Get in shape (not necessarily lose weight, just develop a fitness plan and stick to it).
  6. Spend time every day in some form of structured prayer.   Reading religious books does not count.

What are your goals for this year?  If you haven’t thought of any, don’t worry!  Just because it’s already January 1st doesn’t mean you can’t join in!

3 thoughts on “Resolution

  1. May I recommend the excellent book by Matthew Kelly Rhythym of Life? It is all about “the best version of yourself.”
    I think “religious books” count. 🙂
    AND don’t get too ambitious and then get discouraged! Even small successes are SUCCESS.
    I am proud of you. Keep up the great work. Love you!

  2. Kelly is already on my reading list. In fact, since I located Chris’s copy by handily looking at the bookshelf from the other side of the room, it’s next!

    I don’t want to count religious books in my prayer time because I really want to focus on talking WITH God. My default is to just read about him and I want to break away from that this year.

  3. Oh! And I totally forgot to mention that my whole resolution is based on what he says. We listened to one of his talks at the BRICK girls meeting. Totally where I got the idea.

Leave a Reply

