Letting it out.

I’ve been wanting to write something for the last couple days.  But the thought that keeps rolling around in my head is “I have nothing to write about!”.  Things have been tough around here this past week.  I’ve been trying to get into a good groove, establishing habits (of personal and household nature).  Chris started his new semester of classes, so yesterday he was on the computer all day.  Our debit cards were “compromised” from a “merchant” we had both shopped at, so they were canceled and we won’t have new ones for 7-10 days.   I got a letter regarding something that made ZERO sense and is now going to take a week or so to figure out.  I discovered that I am, quite literally, addicted to pop.  That’s a story in and of itself, and I shall tell it to you.

As part of my usual “Let’s get healthy!” kick I have finally decided to stop drinking pop.  For the past six months or so, we’d usually have a couple 12 packs around and I’d probably drink 3-5 cans a day, sometimes more, sometimes less (I know!  It’s awful!  And it wasn’t diet either!).  When I ran out earlier this week, I just told myself I wasn’t going to buy any more pop, but if I drink it elsewhere, I’m not going to beat myself up over it.  Well, when I was babysitting Zeke this week, I grabbed a can of Lauren’s cause there wasn’t really anything else to drink (I needed flavor!).  When I cracked open that can and took that first sip, I swear, I felt just like an addict.  It was such a weird feeling!  I got so shaky and excited at just the thought of drinking it.  And now I’m quite convinced I need to give it up.  So I’m taking some babysteps and I got some Kroger brand Crystal Lite stuff and put it in a two liter of sparkling water.  Flavor, carbonation and none of the bad stuff!

Grace’s new nickname is, officially, Trouble.  Honestly, she is the best baby.  She sleeps until 10:30 in the morning, she is happy and she clearly loves us.  But she is just at that stage where her curiosity leads her to get into EVERYTHING. I love her for it though.

She’s up now, so I’m going to go play with her.  Sometimes it’s just nice to write things out.. talk about them.   It’s catharsis, right?  So many blogs are just about getting it out there, sharing your experiences, reading others and knowing that you aren’t alone.  Stressfulness happens to everyone. Everyone gets depressed once in a while.   It’s life.

Thanks for allowing me to let it out.

One thought on “Letting it out.

  1. Rachel…I can COMPLETELY relate to the soda thing (sorry I can’t bring myself to say “pop” i’m an east coast girl after all!) I’ve tried to give it up SO many times but I find myself thinking about it and just dying for that refreshing flavorful fizz. Jon says it’s like a drug to me because if we run out we absolutely HAVE to go get more. And 3-5 cans a day sounds about right to me too. If you figure out a good way to stop drinking it PLEASE let me know!

    ~Mandee

    PS I really like your blog!

Leave a Reply

