Choices

Today is my half birthday.  I’m officially 23 1/2 now!

Today is also the 37th anniversary of Roe vs. Wade.

Over 40 million babies have been aborted since then.

I could have been one of them.

My mom conceived me during her senior year of college.  People told her that it would be “easiest” or a “good idea” to just have an abortion and not “throw away her life”.  She was in school for a communications degree.  My mom’s an author now but who knows what she could have done if she had pursued a career right out of college.

Instead, she had me, married my dad, then went on to have 6 more kids, who currently have reproduced twice.  She has experienced much sorrow, including the death of her youngest, my sister Celeste Marie.  In Celeste’s case too, I’m sure many would say that it would have been best to have aborted her so that we wouldn’t have had to suffer through 4 months of watching her in Children’s Hospital suffer and then die in our arms.  But Mom has also experienced so much joy.  Our family motto is “Where we are, there fun is”.  We are a close family who would do anything for one another.  And we love each other to death (not literally, of course!).

Imagine how the world would be different if my mom had aborted me.  Imagine how it’d be if your mom had aborted you.  Imagine how it’d be if those 40 million hadn’t been aborted.  Yes, there might have been much more sorrow in the world.  But I’m positive that there would have been more joy.

Women all over the world are making the choice to have sex.  I encourage them to make the choice to accept the potential consequences of that act no matter what.  That child had no say in whether or not you would have sex when you were fertile.  He or She had no say in your current marital status, financial status or emotional state.  But He or She will also have no choice but to love you because you are their mother.  Babies love their mama’s no matter what.  It may not be the best situation for them to be born, but if you make it work, it will become the best situation.  Accept joy into your life.  Accept the smiles, the giggles, the hugs and messy wet kisses.  Accept the poopy diapers and the flu.  Accept it all.  Because this baby may be your personal savior.

For you created my inmost being;

you knit me together in my mother’s womb.

I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made;

your works are wonderful,

I know that full well.

My frame was not hidden from you

when I was made in the secret place.

When I was woven together in the depths of the earth,

your eyes saw my unformed body.

All the days ordained for me

were written in your book

before one of them came to be.

Psalm 139:13-18 (NIV)

Today, I ask you to pray for all the pregnant mothers in the world.  Pray that they may make the choice to accept their babies with love and joy.  Pray that they may experience peace.

Pray too for all those who have had abortions.  Whether they recognize it or not, they have suffered.  Many women suffer depression and wish they had not aborted.  May these women also experience peace.

Pray for all those who are in Washington DC for the March for Life, that they may experience the fire of the Holy Spirit and be encouraged in their courageous efforts.

Pray for our elected officials at all levels.  They all need to be infused with the Holy Spirit so that they may see the dignity of the tiniest human lives, their youngest constituents.

Pray for mothers of small children.  Life with a baby, a toddler, a preschooler is not easy.  There are hard days where you have to put yourself second and your child first.  These mothers have done this from the moment they accepted their pregnancy and made the decision to have their child.  May they have peace and experience joy even in the midst of temper tantrums and poop explosions.

Pray for all mothers too.  Just cause your child doesn’t need you to change their diaper doesn’t mean they don’t need you.  St. Monica knows how hard it can be for mothers of adult children.  Her son spent his inheritance on whores, booze and all sorts of other nonsense.  Many mothers suffer from similar “problem children”.  Pray for them so that they can have the strength to love their children no matter what wildness they get into.

Pray for the mothers who have chosen adoption for their child.  I can not even imagine giving up one of my babies and I pray that these women may experience joy and peace with their decision.  Their children will be thanking them for allowing them the chance to live, whether they are able to tell their birth mother that or not.

Pray for fathers.  It takes “two to tango” and a baby isn’t just made from an egg.  Whether they realize it or not, their child is half of them and deserves their love as well.  Pray for them to have the strength to love their children and provide for them, no matter what the cost.

Lord, hear our prayers.


2 thoughts on “Choices

  1. Wow! Wonderful testimony and encouragement!

    I too, was told to get an abortion. I was date raped. I was only 23. I had my dream job (flight attendant). I chose life. My son is now 20 and in a few weeks will become a father to a baby girl. My 1st grandchild.

    “They” said that every day I would look into my baby’s eyes and see the man who raped me. Every day I DID look into the eyes of my baby boy and I saw…my little boy. Mine. My love. My joy.

    I can honestly say that I never had trouble bonding with him. I can honestly say that I never once thought about that man while looking at my son. I received healing everytime I looked into his eyes.

    I can not imagine my life without him. I went on to have 6 more children (3 of whom I hope to meet in heaven someday — those pregnancies ended in miscarriages) 3 who are with me today. There is no difference in the love I feel for my “planned” children and my “unplanned” child.

    So, my child is about to have a child. How very blessed am I!

Leave a Reply

