Small cheer and great welcome makes a merry feast.

In my opinion, I have much more than “small” cheer and I have plenty of welcome for you here: at my new blog home!  I hope you will join me in this “feasting” today and in the coming days, weeks, months, and hopefully years!

The above quote is Shakespeare from The Comedy of Errors.  Anyone who knows me might think I pulled that out of my head, but no, while I did major in theatre, that does not mean that I read any plays (let alone Shakespeare)!  I thought though that today I would give you a bit more of a glimpse into who I am.  I imagine that most of you readers know me “IRL” (in real life), but some of you don’t and I feel like it’s odd to start off this bit of our friendship without you knowing who I am!

I am the oldest of 7 kids, six still struggling through life, one remarkably already in heaven (see brokenandblessed.com for more on Celeste).  My parents are forever 35 to me, are ridiculously fun to hang out with and are some of my closest friends.  I’m 23 (and a half, if you want to get particular) and married to my wonderful husband Chris.  I have one little girl, Grace Philomena (or Gracie Mena or Trouble depending on her mood).

I like books, chocolate, ice cream, Better Made BBQ potato chips and I’m trying to break my addiction to pop.  I prefer tea to coffee unless you are offering me a Java Chip Frappucino.

I graduated magne cum laude  in 2008 with my Bachelor’s of Fine Arts in Theatre, Directing Concentration from the University of Detroit Mercy.  I don’t quite know how I managed such high honors considering I barely did any of my work, memorized scenes the day before and had a regular 3.0 GPA throughout college, or so I thought.

I live in the Detroit Michigan suburbs (West Side, not East, fo sho!).  I’ve lived in this area my whole life, except for the two years I spent at Franciscan University in Steubenville Ohio.  I was also homeschooled as a kid (2-12).  I was also quite nerdy.

I am on the board of directors for my local civic theatre and directed a show there this past December (It’s a Wonderful Life).

If I could open a business I’d either start a children’s theatre or a wedding planning business.

One of my all time favorite books is Jane Eyre.  My Disney Princess is Belle.  I still have my teddy bear (Olivia) as well as my favorite stuffed racoon (Noonie).

I am passionately Catholic.  I adhere to all the teachings of the Church, gladly I might add.  I am not afraid to call someone out on behavior that goes against God’s word.  I have spent the last 7  1/2 years on a message board as one of the “resident Catholics” forever beating the dead horses known as purgatory, Mary, the papacy and birth control (among others).  If I ever talk about “The Z” that’s the message board.  I’ve made some of my best friends on there, even if I’ve never actually met them.  I also met my husband on there.  But that’s a love story for another time.

I am a stay at home mom who also babysits her adorable and favorite (and only) nephew, Zeke.  He’s the offspring of my sister Lauren and her hubby, Giovanni (surprisingly he’s half Polish!).

I hope you enjoy my simple little blog and I sincerly hope that I can provide thought and life provoking posts.  If you ever have a question, feel free to ask!

2 thoughts on “Small cheer and great welcome makes a merry feast.

  1. This is awesome rachel! and so are you! I enjoy reading your blogs and some of the links you have led me too! Hopefully chris will read it 🙂
    xoxo

Leave a Reply

