7 Quick Takes and coffee!- 2/5/2010

For the Friday du jour, I bring you my 7 quick (or not so quick) takes with a bit of company girl coffee thrown in.  Or tea, cause coffee takes too long to make!

1.

First, I bring you my cup of tea.. literally.  This tea is a great find that I found at Kroger.  It’s just the “nice” store brand (Private Selection).  And look, it even has the Good Housekeeping seal!  I didn’t notice that before.  I like loose leaf teas that have more dimension to them than just the normal, ground up packet.  If I had my way, I’d only drink loose leaf tea.

2.

I’ve been spending a lot of my “free” time reading the book Sarum by Edward Rutherfurd.  It’s the “novel of England” but it’s really more a novel of Salisbury, or the Stonehenge area for us Americans.  It’s really interesting and about 900 pages long.   Hopefully it’ll last me another week or two!

3.

I love my husband.  I really do.  But I especially love that when he wants something he usually comes up with a way to make me happy too.  Case in point: he needs to use the desktop computer more.  I prefer using a desktop if I have to type at all.  I can use the netbook if I’m just reading things but if I have to type, it is a desktop I want!  So my dear, darling husband’s solution is to put up a second computer.  He’s also doing this for very cheap.  My new computer (which he is building himself) will be made out of a bunch of random parts that make no sense to me and will sit on a nice black desk with a cool shelf from Walmart.  By the window!  I’ll be able to look out the window!  As soon as the project is complete, pictures will be taken.

4.

I finally have my short bookshelf by my big book shelves.  We really needed a few more shelves and this also gives me a cute place to put flowers or pictures or some other decorative nicknack that is sitting in a box or closet somewhere.  As soon as that’s done, pictures, I promise!

5.

The super bowl is this weekend and my fantasy football quarterback is going!   Go Saints!  I am also baking cakes to look like their helmets.  Can’t wait to get that done!

6.

As Lent so quickly approaches I encourage you to check out Pope Benedict’s (or B16 as I like to call him) Lenten Message 2010.  It’s on the subject of “justice” which I think is a great one for moms to mediate on as we are called every day to mete out justice, whether in the form of who gets the extra cookie (mom, of course.  ;)) or in introducing our kids to their true “due”: the love God has for them.

7.

I’m trying to decide what my new habit is going to be.  In January I managed to establish a habit of taking a daily vitamin (it’s a prenatal).  Have any ideas for me?

Head on over to Home Sanctuary and Conversion Diary for coffee or quick takes!

6 thoughts on “7 Quick Takes and coffee!- 2/5/2010

  1. This is a great post.
    Lent…I need to get organised for myself and what we are doing as a family and the children for ‘school’
    Thanks for sharing
    Good luck on the computer. i got a laptop, all to my self for my birthday last year and I love it.
    God Bless

  2. I have been trying to get healthier since Sept. so every month I too have been trying to start something new. August was no more soda or candy (candy has been a hard one right now), Sept was exercise, and Jan. was vitamins for me also.
    Do you do something that you would like to quit like eat sweets or soda. Those were the hard ones for me. Good luck can’t wait to see what your new habit will be.

  3. Hubby and I share a laptop, and it’s not fun. It helps that we have a data plan for our smartphones so that we can go online there, but the typing part does not fare well with me. Can’t wait to see pictures!

    And I see you’re doing the organizing challenge. Woohoo! Good luck!

  4. What a great hubby! When he’s done, can you send him to me? I have a ton of honey do’s I need completed! 🙂

    As for the Super Bowl, absolutely, GEAUX Saints!!!

Leave a Reply

