Not so high-falutin’

Today I’m feeling less… reflective than I have been lately.  And not reflective in the mirror like way, but the intellectual, “high-falutin'” way.  I will blame this normal feeling on two things:

1.  A head cold.  Blah.

2. A messy house and my first day at home in a week.

Yeah, there’s quite a bit of mess to take care of.  Chris was home the last two days, but he had Grace and a good deal of school work/real work to get done.

I haven’t told you about the real work?  Oh dear!  Well, in the Detroit archdiocese, we have further subdivisions called “Vicariates” headed up by Vicars (a chosen pastor of one the vicariate parishes).  One of the vicariates lost their webmaster/newsletter editor.  One of the vicariate guys works with my mom (do you see where this is going?).  If you don’t know where this is going, well, Chris and I are the new webmasters/editors!  We actually managed to publish the March newsletter (which will be in parishes this weekend) and the website will be going live in a few days (we have to wait for the domain name to be open for registration again on the 5th).  As soon as it’s live, I’ll be directing you there.  Chris has done a FANTASTIC job on the website and I’m ridiculously proud of him!  We do get paid a small amount for doing this, which is great for us, and hopefully it will open doors and windows for us.

One of the more “fun” parts about all this is that Chris came up with a name for our website “business”: Five Two Four Designs.  Whoever can guess the origin of that name wins… my congratulations (relatives are not eligible to win)  and maybe if you’re lucky, some sort of prize.  I”ve got oodles of things I could give away from my home… we’ll see who can guess it!

Grace has been advancing by leaps and bounds.  We’re working on two primary skills, standing on her own and saying “dada”.  I’m pushing for that to be her first word.  She says the sound after we coach her but we’re trying to get her to connect it with Chris.  I can’t wait for that!  She also loves when I sing the “ABC’s” and will go “Aaaaa” (long a sound) after I sing.  It’s just adorable!  Her standing skills are coming along quite well too.  She’ll be walking soon enough.  And then running and then she’ll be driving…

Perhaps I should slow down.  That’s a looong way off.

How is your Lent going?  Mine’s O.K.  I spent some time at adoration yesterday and managed to pray 2 Divine Mercy chaplets.  That’s mainly cause I prayed mine and just as I finished they started praying it out loud (it was 3pm).  I would have stayed to pray the rosary too, but I had to get home (I was supposed to be at adoration about 2 hours before that, it didn’t work out that way).  I’m doing the “best” on my family goal, no secular music in the car.  I also picked up a CD by Scott Hahn.  Although I just realized Chris took the car.. I hope I can find where I was in the CD again!

I think I’ve procrastinated long enough, it’s time to go take care of my home and try and get some order going.  Have a good day everyone and I hope you can enjoy the small moments and the sunny day (if you have one like I do!).

One thought on “Not so high-falutin’

Leave a Reply

