The Summer of the Skirt

This is an idea I’ve been playing around with for quite some time.  Since the official start of summer is quickly approaching, I think it is time to unveil my big plan!

Essentially, my goal is to wear a skirt exclusively this summer.  Why would I do such a thing?  Well, there are several reasons.

First, skirts are cooler than wearing jeans or pretty much any shorts.  A breeze is nice when it’s 90 degrees with 90% humidity.

Secondly, I feel much more feminine while wearing a skirt.  I also tend to wear an apron more often and do more housework.

Finally, skirts are much more flattering on me.  After giving birth, my body is more womanly, more curvy and there are definitely some “trouble areas” (read: tummy chub).  If I wear a pair of shorts or pants at the stylish rise (below the belly button) my chub tends to “muffin top”.  In addition to that, there is no way to hide the size of my thighs when they are encased in denim.  It’s rather like sausages in casing.  However, if I wear a skirt that sits at the natural waistline I can hide my chub beneath the front panel of fabric and the line created by the skirt effectively hides my thighs while accentuating my shapely calves.  It’s fantastic!

Frankly, I don’t understand why women gave up wearing skirts all the time.  I think a lot of it is the feminist movement, we wanted to be treated like men in the workplace, so we started dressing like them.  Combine that with the need for wearing more heavy duty clothing during the war effort of WW2, well, jeans started out as a useful piece of clothing for working hard and became the norm.

And remember, please, I am not “against” pants, nor do I think that women need to wear skirts in order to be proper Christian ladies.  I think you might be better able to channel your Christian lady side in a skirt, but by no means is it a sin to wear pants.

So what’s my plan?  My overreaching goal is this:

I will wear a skirt as much as possible.  If performing tasks that require the use of pants, I will have no qualms with setting aside my skirt in favor of convenience.  Said tasks include sports as well as housecleaning.  If I can wear a skirt for them though, well then I will darn well try!

What does this mean for my blog this summer?  Well, there will be a lovely series outlining the details of my plan (wardrobe evaluation, budget, shopping, execution) as well as many pictures of me wearing skirts!  So be on the lookout for these posts before our official kick off day of Monday,  June  21!

7 thoughts on “The Summer of the Skirt

  1. Oh yay!!! I have been reading skirts-only blogs like MAD lately and keep wondering if you were ever going to do this. I cannot reconcile it from a theological standpoint, as I don’t think the Biblical “arguments” to wear only skirts are all that life changing or convincing. Regardless, I am heavily drawn to the movement and see in my own family how pants have been a sign of rebellion with my mum and her sisters (all the generations before that were skirts-only, and I have a set of cousins whose family still is, but the rest of them wore pants as soon as they left the house and got married). I love skirts. Love love love. They are sooo pretty and comfortable. I don’t like the idea of wearing a long jean skirt every day, but the skirts I have are awesome – you can still be creative/funky/stylish – even moreso – in skirts than with pants.

    ANYWAY. All this to say I have recently started wearing a skirt on my day off. It’s a very small start, and I will try and wear a black skirt to work as often as I can instead of black pants. My only trouble is I like to sleep as long as possible in the morning which means no time for leg shaving…which means… pants. So I need to figure a way to master that into my routine. My long term goal is to become skirts only but not for religious reasons, just because I find them to be more comfortable and becoming 🙂

    Your announcement excites me. I look forward to updates!!

    PS- Save your jeans for mowing the lawn. Cutting it in a skirt is a baaaad bad idea, lol.

  2. I much prefer skirts as well, especially when I was in the crazy Florida heat. However, the first thing that popped in my head was the same as Missina… shaving! So silly, I know, but getting up several times a night still with Asa, I prefer sleep and resting (while he’s sleeping/napping) over shaving! 🙂 But I do love my skirts and agree they make me feel more dressed up and feminine. 🙂

  3. Oh! I did this last year, but not with a goal to wear them every day, but 4 times a week and I succedded my goal. Now though, I naturally just wear a skirt or a dress every second day or so, it’s so liberating and comfortable!

  4. I love long skirts…I just struggle to find them! I’d be curious to see what you find out about where and how much! 🙂 I’ve also enjoyed buying those long summer dresses and throwing a shirt over them if nothing else is available. Although in the summer that can be one layer too many…

Leave a Reply

