Looking back: 2010

It’s that time of year again, when we all try to remember what we resolved to do this year and when we feel really guilty about how we “failed”.  You know, the “New Year’s Resolution” guilt is a bunch of goofiness, in my opinion.  Resolutions or goals aren’t static, they are meant to change with you, to grow with you as you change and as your circumstances change.  Thankfully, I have a blog that has a written confirmation of my thoughts at this time last year, so I can evaluate what changed, where I succeeded and where I still need to grow.

Post #1: A 7 quick takes

Reflections:

Well, looking at my brief resolution there “To become the best version of myself for this year.” I wouldn’t say that I “suceeded” but I certainly did not fail.   It’s quite ambitious, so I think I did pretty good on improving myself and becoming the best version of myself.

As for the “next one” referenced, he has not shown up in 2010, but he’ll be here awfully soon (in about 10 weeks, oh my!).

And with regards to loving days where I spend my time with Grace and clean and be all “housewifey”, well, yes, those are wonderful.  When I’m not pregnant.  Now I’d rather sit around and eat truffles, drink tea and read.  And Grace can entertain herself while I gestate, thank you very much.

Post #2: Resolutions/goals

Let’s review each one and see how I did!

  1. Work on financial peace (setting and keeping budgets, working to get out of debt, saving money, etc).
    Hm.  While I have more peace about finances, in particular that God will take care of them, I have NOT improved so much on the specifics.  Maintained a good amount of awareness, sure.  Improved or saved money?  HA!
  2. Blog more (feeds my creativity/intelligence) with the goal of eventually writing a book about… something.
    Well, blogging fell by the wayside in the summertime.  With good reason, I was busy busy busy and then pregnant pregnant pregnant.  That takes a lot out of a woman!  As for writing a book, well, I started one during Nanowrimo this year, but did not finish (nor did I hit the 50k goal).  But I read plenty of blogs, which fed my creativity and intelligence and I don’t feel that I “failed” this goal either.
  3. Feed my creativity by taking the Wilton cake decorating classes and scrapbooking.
    Check!  I took the first of the Wilton classes in 2010!  As for scrapbooking, not so much, but hey, at least part of this is a solid checkmark!
  4. Fully organize my home and develop cleaning habits so I’m never spending an entire month with my facebook status saying “Rachel is cleaning.. again”.
    Well this one got buggered up when we moved in the summer.  Moving while pregnant, especially early pregnancy, is possibly one of the stupidest things to do (at least for me).  However, the new house is at least as organized as the apartment and I’ve realized that I will always be cleaning.  It’s the job that never ends.
  5. Get in shape (not necessarily lose weight, just develop a fitness plan and stick to it).
    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA.
  6. Spend time every day in some form of structured prayer.   Reading religious books does not count.
    Well, this one was one I totally forgot about.  Definitely didn’t happen, but at the same time, I do feel that I improved my prayer life.  Which is really more in the spirit of things.

And finally, my Word of the Year 2010. (sorry, there is no post about this, but it was the one thing I kept in my head the whole year.)

Last year at this time I read an awful lot of bloggers who were picking their “Word of the Year”.  And after this year, I think it is a MUCH better thing to do than an arbitrary list of goals.  For 2010, my word was Peace.  What did that mean for me?  I wanted to embrace the concept, I wanted to be more peaceful, to create peaceful environments around me and to avoid unnecessary stress and drama.  It was my number one value in this exercise and that’s why I chose it as my word.

So did I become a more peaceful person?  Emphatically YES!

For a brief example, I had a root canal yesterday.  Two nights ago I woke up with excruciating pain on the right side of my mouth.  My dentist had to refer me to an endodontist who determined that I needed an immediate root canal.  While there were certainly some tears shed over the sheer cost of this procedure and fear that I could lose my tooth, I also maintained an immense sense of calm.  Peace that all would be well, peace that even if things will be tight, it will be paid for and peace that even though it sucks God’s taking care of me.  My mother even commented on how calm I was about it all!   Heck, when it was all done, I went to the mall for several hours with my mom!

So yes, I feel that I have really made an effort to embrace peace in my life and in my self.  Does that mean I never have anxiety or drama?  No.  Does that mean my house is a peaceful sancturary where my husband comes home to order and cleanliness and a cold beer?  No, not on most days.  But in the grand scheme of things, peace is reigning.  God is taking care of me and my family and even through stress, He is keeping me full of peace.

I’m looking forward to spending the next couple days praying over my new Word of the Year (I have one in mind!) and also another fun thing that I’ll share with you tomorrow.  And I will still make some goals in different areas of my life, but it’s definitely going to be more loosey-goosey than my list from 2010!

Leave a Reply

