Funk

There’s an episode of Glee, in the first season, when everyone gets all in a funk because the rival Glee Club has been pranking them and being generally more awesome (any group who sings bohemian rhapsody is WAY cooler in general).   So the teacher makes them all sing some soulful funk music, because clearly music is the answer.  And then they all live happily ever after (or… something like that).

Well, I’m in a bit of a funk.  And I must say music DOES help.  It’s cliche, but at least I’m not dancing and breaking into apropos songs at the drop of a hat (or the drop of a glass of milk).

I’ve dealt with seasons of depression for a long long time now.  But I think right now, post partum is much harder.  I feel alone, yet I’m constantly with my baby (and the toddler too).  I have a second person practically attached to me all day, and I feel alone?  How is that for an oxymoron?

So for today, to bust through this funk I’m going to blast the Wicked soundtrack and get what cleaning I can done.  And when the baby wakes up from his nap I’ll dance around with him (and probably sing too).  You might not want to come and see it, I’m not exactly as talented as those Glee kids.
(PS, who else is annoyed that Chris Colfer didn’t get to say ANYTHING on SNL this past weekend?!)

Leave a Reply

