Say what you wanna say, And let the words fall out

Take a line from a song that you love or connect with. Now forget the song, and turn that line into the title or inspiration for your post.

ImageHow apropos that the “inspire me” is exactly what I wanted to do anyway!  Oh the little joys of life.

As I posted earlier, I heard the song Brave  and it was totally life changing.  You can see the full lyrics here if you want to read them and watch the music video here (it’s definitely worth watching!).

Now, the “story” behind the song (from a brief snipped of an interview I quickly googled) is that Sara had a friend who was having a hard time coming out as gay, so this was her encouragement to her friend.  But it’s such a HUGE message for all sorts of people, in a huge way I think against bullying.  

For me it’s a reminder to relearn my not-afraid-to-tell-it-like-it-is “self”.  For a long time I think I’ve retreated into myself, a side effect of grief and depression really.  And while that was important for my healing, I’ve developed a bad habit of not standing up for myself.  Sometimes you HAVE to call people out on their crap.  In fact, I think this is something Jesus calls us to do.

If someone who calls themselves a Catholic or a Christian is living the opposite of what Jesus calls us to live, we need to call them out on it!  If someone is hurting people with gossip, we need to tell them to stop!  If someone is bullying others, we need to stop them!  

And even with “secular” things, you are never going to create change by hiding in your own little world.  I’m not saying to be a rude, tactless person, but if we never talk about the importance of breastfeeding in public, or talk about the mental illnesses we face, or own up to the fact that we need government assistance, then we will NEVER remove the stigma of those things.  

We all have to be brave and stand up for the things we believe in.  You might not change people’s minds, but I think it’s far worse to just sit there and squelch your words because you are afraid of being hurt or because you think it’s “useless”.  No words are useless.  Maybe you won’t change your opponents mind or heart, but you might have someone hear what you say and become more secure in themselves because they know they aren’t alone.  

I have had words building up in me for years now.  Building and building and building and it’s like a flood of words are about to break through a dam.  Be prepared… the words are falling out.  This is just the warning trickle.

Leave a Reply

