#sorrynotsorry

sorrynotsorry
I do not need to apologize for who I am.
#sorrynotsorry is a TOTALLY appropriate thing to put here, as silly as the hashtag might be.

Side note, what’s with us always APOLOGIZING for everything. I think the whole sorry not sorry thing is a great thing.  Because it’s HONEST.  I’m being honest here, so please accept that honesty for what it is.  Because I’m not sorry for what I’m going to say.

I was thinking the other day (after an event that I’m not going to share), about how I really do not need to apologize for who I am.  I am a smart, interesting person.  I have varied interests, many of which, yes, do have to do with pregnancy/childbirth/parenting, but hey, that’s my life right now and thus what I read about.  It wouldn’t make sense for me to be an expert on AARP and where to get awesome senior discounts.  Although now that my parents are 50 (or just about to be 50), I am starting to note those things, just to pass them on to them.  I won’t need that info personally for another 20 years.

So yeah.  I know a LOT about babies, parenting styles, various parenting “experts”, school related topics, including Common Core State Standards, “new” math and such.  I know probably even MORE about Natural Family Planning, the woman’s fertility cycle, cervical mucus (yes, mucus #sorrynotsorry), and the theology surrounding those topics.  Speaking of theology, there’s another topic I love: my Catholic faith!  For any of these topics, I love talking about them and if I don’t know an answer, I love learning more about them.

Anyway, my point is this.  I have these interests.  I know a lot about them.  And I don’t need to apologize for that.  Just because you might be interested in politics, or the LGBT movement, or health topics, or whatever other interest you might have, does not mean I HAVE to learn about those things, or stop learning about the things that I like.

It also means that if I’m talking with you, I might very well want to talk about these things and share them with you, especially if you don’t know anything at all about them!  I LOVE to share things.  I love telling people all sorts of interesting facts about ovulation or placentas or common core and why it sucks.  And guess what. If you DON’T want to hear about them, you don’t have to!  Just say “hey man, did you hear about this other cool thing?”  If we don’t have any common interests, well, then, I guess maybe we shouldn’t talk, if you aren’t interested in hearing what I have to say, and I’m not interested in hearing what you have to say.  That is OK.  I might get sad about that, if I like you and all as a person.  But we don’t have to all be friends with everyone and agree with everyone and like all the same things as everyone.  That makes for a very boring world.

So here’s what I ask.  If I am talking about something, and you don’t want to hear about it, change the subject in a kind manner.  Don’t mock me for my interests.  Don’t belittle the things I care about.  Find something that we both like and can talk about.  Don’t force me to hear you talk about things that I don’t care about (aka, shoving things down my throat).  Like  I’ve said before, I like debate.  I love hearing varied opinions on things.  But if I say “No thanks, let’s talk about Once Upon a Time”, let’s just do that, ok?

Y’all can look forward to another post on a similar subject soon.  Except it will be less personal, and more… philosophical?

Leave a Reply

