Word of the Year-2015

New Year 2015 formed from sparking digits over black backgroundHappy New Year everyone!

OK.  It’s time.  Time for me to announce, officially this word that I’ve been mulling over for a good three weeks.  This hasn’t been an easy journey.  For some reason I put a lot of pressure on myself to pick a GOOD word, didn’t just forget and randomly go with something today.

There was a list.  Brainstorming, looking at websites.  A lot of the words had a general theme.  Some of them were things like Discipline, Order, Focus, Consistent, Persevere, Present, Contentment.  They aren’t “bad” words, but not a one felt “right” and most of them either made me bored, or made me annoyed that I was going to have to do chores.

So there I was, feeling really worried that I wasn’t going to find a word. I sat down with my bible (not a usual occurance) and opened it up for some advice.  The first one spoke to another issue in my life.  The second was a nice prayer of praise.  BUT THE THIRD.  Not only did I find my word, but it was the PERFECT “verse of the year”.

Devote yourselves to prayer, being watchful and thankful. Colossians 4:2

This is most definitely the goal I have for my prayer life this year, so verse wise, this fits in to where I feel God calling me.  But there that word “Devote”!!  It’s such a great word all on it’s own.  Definition is to give all or a large part of one’s time or resources to (a person, activity, or cause). But it made me think of a word that is something I really really need.  “Devotion“. Related, obviously, but it means to have love, loyalty, or enthusiasm for a person, activity, or cause.  I LOVE this word.  I need this word!  I can be very…. flighty.  Distracted.  Not always finishing things and not always following through.  (Hence some of those words up there like “focus” and “perseverance.)  But here is a word that is speaking to me, telling me what I need to have.

I need to be devoted to my God, to my family, to my vocation and my life.  I need to have devotion.  I need to love enthusiastically to welcome my tasks with open arms because they are what God is calling me to do.  I need to have love and enthusiasm for things like washing dishes, or exercising, because in all those things, God is calling me to be the best version of me that I can be.  I need to devote myself to the cause of sainthood.  I need to devote myself to serving my family.  I need to devote myself to taking care of myself!

I’m so so so excited about this word, and I’m so excited to see how this year shapes itself around it.  What things will I learn?  About me?  About others?  About what true devotion is?

Happy New Year, again!  And I hope you have found something to excite you as we start a new beginning.

Leave a Reply

