Word of the Year 2017

original

As per the tradition, recap first!

2016’s word was Joy.  I loveeeeeed that word.  Last year was the year when I really was more conscious of my word and was trying to do more to bring joy into my life.  Does that mean I’m perfectly joyful now?  Heck no, but that’s not the point.  I think I’ve learned a lot about what brings me joy and how to embrace it even when things aren’t perfect.

I’ve been thinking for weeks about what my word is going to be. Just like last year I was drawn to words to try and “fix” things, order, simplify… things like that.  And again, I think I’m being drawn to something by the Lord that is really what I truly need, and what He’s probably been trying to hit me over the head with for several months.

And this year I’ve got some scriptures to help me out.

“Come to me, all you who are burdened and I will give you rest”

“Oh, that I had the wings of a dove! I would fly away and be at rest.”

“Then, because so many people were coming and going that they did not even have a chance to eat, he said to them, “Come with me by yourselves to a quiet place and get some rest.””

“In vain you rise early and stay up late, toiling for food to eat— for he grants sleep to those he loves.”

“In peace I will lie down and sleep, for you alone, LORD, make me dwell in safety”

“The LORD replied, “My Presence will go with you, and I will give you rest.””

“I have told you these things, so that in me you may have peace. In this world you will have trouble. But take heart! I have overcome the world.”

Can you guess what my word is by now?

Rest.

I’ve got some specific goals for this year.  I want to learn to accept that when I’m pregnant I just can’t be the housewife (good thing I have a great househusband around).  That for whatever reason, I need lots of rest to grow a baby.  Once she’s here, I’m sure I’ll be needing to adapt that.. babies need to be held and nursed and that might look like laziness, but instead, it is rest for the weary.  I need to get back to “resting with the Lord” and back to weekly adoration.  I’m not sure what other ways He is going to tell me to “Rest!” but I’m sure they’ll be coming.

For now, I’m going to rest until it’s time for the family party.  I’m going to try and pray about what’s causing me anxiety of mind, and pray for that peace of mind that is truly restful.  Because I know that’s what God is telling me I need this year.

One thought on “Word of the Year 2017

  1. Pingback: Reset | Our Domestic Church

Leave a Reply

